Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Well, I hope I have set up the background to what I want to demonstrate to you.  I have said that I would show you examples of the practice that I am trying to model in my own work.

Lets just re-cap for a second, I want to do the following things:

1.  Raise the status of evidence at which the people are at the centre.  In other words talk to people, uncover their experiences, and make those the centre of research enquiry.

2.  Using open data to create visualisations that tell a new and different kind of story about young people and their experiences of socially and economically disadvantaged communities.

3.  Bringing together evidence driven by academics and new technologies to uncover new points of view and new theories on the subject of youth crime and its development across different kinds of communities.

4.  Visualising evidence differently to develop more interesting conversations with the people affected by the problems I describe.

Alright so in the next blog I will finally get onto the beginnings of bringing together the kinds of evidence that I think needs to be heightened both in status and relevance.  I also need to say that I know that many police departments, some researchers, and I am sure many other people that investigate these issues use this type of evidence on an ad hoc, less structured basis.  A part of what I want to demonstrate is that this needs to change, in fact we need a more structured look at new technologies as a resource for both evidence and engagement.

Using Chicago as a start I will religiously follow the above 4 points to demonstrate the impact of looking at evidence in a way that brings the above 4 points to life.

